food waste reduction

I’ve either been too busy to answer the bloganuary post of the day or, quite honestly, weren’t inspired to answer the question of the day. So today I wanted to write what I’m happy about, which is my food waste reduction success as of late:

  • We finished the gallon of milk in the refrigerator before it went bad.
  • I used up all the mushrooms (that were going to get bad) in a really delicious creamy mushroom pasta from Bon Appetit.
  • The bag of spinach that usually gets used a little later than desired (do you see a pattern here?) was actually used beautifully on time with a creamed spinach recipe from Chef John! So delicious.

Now onto my current cooking goals to prevent food waste:

  • Make homemade applesauce with the crazy amount of apples we have that are heading out the door if I don’t use them up.
  • Bake lemon squares and lemon cookies with the lemons we have (they are still very good but I just want try out some recipes).
  • Cook up a few batches of homemade chicken stock using roasted chicken bones, onions that need using, tomatoes that are past their prime, and whatever else I can find.
  • Check all the stored/canned/frozen/refrigerator food to see if any of them will expire soon. I definitely know some are expiring in March/April-ish so I’d like to get those used up before then.

Hopefully I can freeze most of this food/desserts for future enjoyment!

It’s been a constant journey to reduce food waste around here and buy what we think we will use. But life happens and things don’t go as expected. So I then learn some new recipes, practice (and enjoy) the art of cooking, and keep trying to buy more intentionally next time. It’s good for the soul and for the wallet!

I hope this post inspired you in some way. I’ll see if I answer the bloganuary post for tomorrow, but if not, hopefully another post on what makes me happy.

2 thoughts on “food waste reduction

  1. Great results. If I’d read this before going to the store earlier, I might have bought some lemon squares. I did buy popcorn so now I’ll set about getting it all over the floor.

    Note: This doesn’t count as food waste. It’s … something else.

Share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.